Eid for me~

19 Sep

Perhaps im extra excited about Eid/ Raya because i missed it last year. And i actually like it, even as old as i am, i still like it. 🙂 When i came back from Finland in December, i felt like Eid was approaching, lame i know.

Eid is nice, no?

  • meeting relatives – see what they’ve been up to.
  • Whose kid has suddenly shot up and is taking his/her ‘o’ level when you last remember them as little boys/girls.
  • Eating is of course the most enjoyable! =p The food offered to guests would most likely be super-licious.
  • Everyone is in such high spirits.
  • The houses would be so pretty and nice.

What happens with each family is unique,i.e.the food we eat every morning of Raya, our day’s events!

  • Family bonding time! That is what is lacking more and more as we get so busy in our lives. The car space is most utilised only during Eid…otherwise the whole family almost never go out together. It means there would be quarrels and happy moments which would be forgotten by the time night approaches. (that is the way with my family anyway)
  • the little cam-whoring we do
  • Going to my grandma’s place every malam raya! I enjoy this quite alot. Get to see my cousins especially. Leaving my grandma’s house will always take 30mins to an hour because ‘the talk’ never seem to end. We go last minute shopping sometimes as well, the whole big extended family. I used to drag my parents to geylang on malam raya so that i could get henna painted on my hands. (vain i know!) I realised how pointless it is since the henna lasts for 4-5 days? Sometimes, i would decorate my little cousins’ hands with henna. They all love it, no matter how ‘pretty i draw’.
  • Getting ready every morning on Raya and heading to my grandma’s again! It used to be my paternal grandma’s house for breakfast and maternal grandma’s house for dinner but paternal grandma passed away few years back. In between we will visit many many houses…(all my parents grandaunts, granduncles, random random people i know because we go there every year, hehe…of course im kidding about them being random people)
  • The second day of raya would begin with my aunts/uncles visiting our house. It is enjoyable, dont ask me why. Im weird, in the things i enjoy. Then my family would head out house-visiting again!

Now you see why i miss Eid/Raya when i was in Finland?

I missed hearing the takbir on both Eid-ul-fitri and Eid-ul-adha  so i played it on Youtube. The experience wasn’t all that bad because for the first time, i went for Eid prayers in Finland. But that was it people, i spent the rest of the day on internet,

Eid was strictly according to the moon-sighting in Finland so we celebrated Eid a day earlier! I called my parents at 2am Singapore time because i wanted to ask for forgiveness and as expected cry my eyes out. (cry baby, still a baby to them ;))

___________________________________________________________

Why is it that i enjoy blogging and not doing my readings? It dont make sense, im not making sense!  

4 Responses to “Eid for me~”

  1. iqbal September 19, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    ooh new layout! its really really bright! what a 180 from your previous theme 😀 “Cleaning” blog just like cleaning house before hari raya? Bodes well for your future house… (Unless the husband has to do a lot a lot of cleaning!! hehehe)

  2. Adila September 21, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    nothing can beat celebrating eid with family 😀
    it’s the best!

    • parv~.~ September 22, 2009 at 6:28 pm #

      Cant disagree with you! 🙂

      • ad September 25, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

        eh wats the password again?

Leave a Reply

