Just the book I was looking for

9 Sep

I’ve updated this in my library but this book deserves the ‘main page’ 🙂
After reading similar romance, mystery and thriller novels, I craved for something different. When I saw the old book stand at central forum in school I browsed for a long time while sipping chilled Milo taken from the Milo truck.

Definitely a must read a princess’s account of her childrens’ lives in the royal family and how the paternalistic nature of the Arab nations affect the lives of many. This is followed by the best seller Princess which I contemplated buying but didn’t buy.

I felt inclined (at many points in the book)to study the social problems there and be a social worker there. It’s about bringing about change. I do wonder if the culture is entrenched deep in the women there that they won’t want to change.

There were many islamic aspects in the book which non-Muslims can benefit gain knowledge of. As for me, some parts were more culture than religion. Them being of royal ancestry were lavish and I’m still not sure of their stand on drinking alcohol, whether it’s allowed in their understanding (or misunderstanding) of the Quran. Men were portrayed as taking parts of the Quran and having interpretations of it that allows them the flexibility to satisfy their greedy needs and especially carnal desires.

I’m looking forward to Desperate in Dubai! It’s out on the UAE so I hope my brother can get it. Just like Daughters of Arabia, it’s written based on true stories and really gives a varied impression of the middle east. It’s also more recent than this book I’ve read which was published in 1992.

I found it very difficult to believe some parts of the book because of the beast-like nature of men portrayed in the book. Sad but true?

Maybe it’s this very nature of wanting to do something – to advocate for change that appeals me most about being a social worker.

20110909-075604.jpg

2 Responses to “Just the book I was looking for”

  1. Ad September 9, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    To change thm u need the courage to stand up to millions idiotic men there…& the women themselves must have the power to endure the challenges thy will face to get the change.

    • parv~.~ September 14, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

      Agree… I feel so sad for them as it’s not easy to cause a change of mindset of such men. InsyAllah it’ll get better with time for them.

Leave a Reply

