I should have taken a photo of your expression when you had your first taste of carrots

25 Dec

I haven’t prepared any food for you yet but I will insyAllah.

You’ve had a taste of healthy times baby cereal; brown rice and oatmeal. Ummi recently bought you barley but its still in its packaging waiting to be devoured! Alhamdulilah you eat your cereals well and you seem to like them.

Today, ummi opened a jar of Gerber’s carrot juice. Your very first taste of it was,” eww what is that?” And then I continued to give you more and you thought,” this is not my cereal, the bright orange color is nice but odd. No, I don’t think it’s nice even though you’re smiling at me ummi.” And then you had the gagging reflex and ummi thought it was the consistency of the puréed carrot. I tried 2 more little bits of the carrot purée before I dumped the whole jar into the rubbish bin.

I’ll be sure to take photos of you trying out other food in the future insyAllah.

The second part of the day was spent at the Jacob Ballas Children’s garden which is part of botanical gardens.

It was supposed to be just the 3 of us but anna Mukhlis, kakak Sofia and uncle Irshad went with us. Our picnic turned out to be a walk around the garden with stops at play areas.

Uncle Irshad suggested that ummi should bring you on the slide and I did! It was much fun! It has been a long time since ummi had the opportunity to slide down slides so I had a little accident on our first try, ummi slid all the way down and onto the sand and hit the back of my head on the end of the slide. But you know what went through my mind, though a little foggy due to the sudden nature of the accident, that I needed to keep you safe. I held you tightly until ayah pried you out of my arms. You cried. My poor baby…we tried the slides a few more times but we couldn’t get any pictures of us on action, perhaps next time.

Aunty Robina stopped by and had a long chat cum catch up session with us. She carried you and you fell asleep. She was so happy to meet you and carry you. Aunty Robina is from New Zealand so she has a cool accent. She and ayah were friends from their undergrad days at NUS.

Yesterday, we spent the afternoon with aunty Adilah and uncle Reyas. We visited their beautiful new flat at Yishun. Hopefully we can visit them more when you’re older and when their flat is nicely done up and comfy.

20131225-213207.jpg

Leave a Reply

